A Year in Review – My 2013

20130809_133951

Corporate Communications – Class of 2013

Since everyone’s talking about their year, perhaps I should too. Maybe it’ll help me remember all the positive and get over all the negative.

In January, I started a ‘Corporate Communications’ program, in hopes that I would eventually get a job in the Communications department of Toronto Public Library. There I met some of the best group of people I know. As a class of 23, I think we became quite close. I know we all had our shares of fights and arguments but at the end of the day, we were there for each other for those eight months together.

What did I learn in the program?

  • Public Speaking. I always thought I was a good speaker. At least I used to be until I went to university and lost all my public speaking skills. Throughout the program, I kept on hearing criticisms about my skills. My accent wasn’t right. I wasn’t pronouncing words correctly. This and that and a bit of something else. They were harsh but were extremely needed. After my last speech, the praises I received were the best part of the year. I am proud of my improvement.
  • I learned how to write concise. I used to hate short sentences but if you’ve been following this blog, you might have noticed a change in my writing style. I don’t mind writing short sentences anymore and can convey my message in a short and concise format.
  • I met some fabulous industry people and they have certainly provided me with the best advice needed for a newcomer.
  • I also learned how to get along with more personalities and open up more.
  • The last thing I learned was that I am surrounded by an invisible shield, thus it is hard for others aka guys to approach me. Didn’t know that. Can’t really do anything about it, weirdly enough.

I became friends with a sweet Pakistani girl, who got married in March and I was honoured to be part of it. I had never been to a friend’s wedding and never to any wedding without my family, so this was interesting.

I got engaged. The marriage got called off. End of story. If you want to know more, follow my other blog. Yes, this was a shameless plug.

Every year, I celebrate my birthday in a different city. This year though, I celebrated it with my new found friends at Red Lobsters. That was really fun. I did, though, visit two new cities this year, Montreal and Washington, DC. Definitely places to visit but make sure everyone with you know your plans and agree with it. There were times when it got really frustrating but I still love going to places with my family. They are pretty patient with my over controlling nature during trips.

When I started this year I had a goal. At the end of this year I am proud to say I have achieved my goal. The program was joined with the intention of getting a job in the communications department of Toronto Public Library. On October 7th of the parting year, I officially joined the Communications, Programming, and Community Events department of TPL.

And I love it.

I have some of the best colleagues at TPL who have had to deal with my crazy roller coaster life. Both at Runnymede and CPCE, everyone have been extremely supportive and kind to me.

My parens, my brother and I.

My parens, my brother and I.

 

Also, my family. I know there are times when we don’t get along at all. The amount of fights I’ve had with my family this year probably exceeds any other year. We had our disagreements but at the end of the day, all of them have taken my best interest into consideration. When things got out of hand, they took charge. I might have been married right now if it wasn’t for my parents finally putting their foot down. I wish I could have done that but I kept thinking of them while they were only thinking of me. I know next year is going to be equally challenging, in terms of this marriage thing but I know everything will work out for the best.

Because I am much loved by all. I know that now and I hope I remember that.

There were ups and downs and some outright craziness this year but I loved it. I made some new friends, learned some new skills, visited some new cities, had my first ‘relationship’ experience, and achieved my goal.

Thank you everyone who were part of my journey this year, I hope to continue having ALL of you part of my life in the future. Fun times!

One thought on “A Year in Review – My 2013

Leave a Reply

